Just a quick update about an important new feature - late last night, we released a change to our class registration system. Most member-based websites require you to verify your email by clicking a link in an email sent to you after registering, before you can even log in. I find that incredibly annoying - so, we don't require that step when registering here. It does have its purpose though, which is to prevent people from creating multiple accounts and to (attempt) to prevent system spam or abuse.
As mentioned in a recent post, after our official launch, we've been receiving a flow of new traffic which is comprised of mostly end-users. As curious as people usually are, a number of them are testing the class registration system. This is certainly annoying for the organization hosting the class. So, we added an extra step in the process of registering. Before you can register on any class, a confirmation email will be automatically sent to you, which you need to use to verify your email address. Users will only have to do this once.
Aside from preventing spam, it helps to make sure, on both ends, that the user registering has a valid email address which can be used for further communication. Also, it makes you aware if you've supplied an incorrect email address when registering (which many have already done by accident).